Presidency | Ministry of Foreign Affairs | United Nations

Español | English

News File

New York, November 8, 2012


Colombia was elected today for a period of three years as one of the 18 members of the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC), in elections held in the General Assembly of the United Nations, where also were elected Albania, Benin, Bolivia, Canada, Croatia, United States, Haiti, Kyrgyzstan, Kuwait, Mauritius, Nepal, Netherlands, San Marino, South Africa, Sudan, Tunisia and Turkmenistan.

The Economic and Social Council is composed of a total of 54 members and deal with the economic, social and environmental problems of the world, and is also one of the constituent bodies of the United Nations set out in the Charter.


See more information on ECOSOC